IN Join In
2021-22 Finalists announced for Horse of the Year Awards
Congratulations to all finalists and connections for this year's New Zealand Thoroughbred Horse of the Year Awards
Tyler Tane, NZTR Handicapper | July 28, 2022

The NZTR Horse of the Year Awards recommendation panel, of which I am a member, has finalised its deliberations regarding the jumping and people categories for the awards this week.

The jumper category is dominated by Paul Nelson and Corrina McDougal runners, with The Cossack, Argyll and No Tip all finalists.  They are joined by the Great Northern winner Te Kahu and the Kevin Myers-trained Grand National winner Tallyho Twinkletoe.   There was much debate among the recommendations panel regarding this category but ultimately it was agreed that all finalists deserved recognition.

In the Jumps Jockey category, it was very much a one-horse race.  The automatic nominees for this award are the jockey who rides the most winners, earns the most stakes money and wins the most prestige jumping races.  During the 2021-22 racing season one rider achieved all three, along with a phenomenal strike rate of 2.32.  Shaun Phelan is a deserving winner of this award having taken out nine of our 13 black type jumps races, leaving very slim pickings for his fellow jump riders.

The finalists in these categories are:

Jumper of the Year (5): Argyll, No Tip, The Cossack, Tallyho Twinkletoe, Te Kahu

Jumps Jockey of the Year (1): Shaun Phelan

Owner of the Year, sponsored by TAB NZ (10): Archer Equine Investments, John & Jan Cassin, Joan Egan, Gerry Harvey, BJ & J E Lindsay Partnership, Markwood Lodge, Graeme Rogerson, Trelawney Thoroughbreds, Valachi Downs, Waikato Stud

Jockey of the Year (4): Michael McNab, Opie Bosson, Lisa Allpress, Craig Grylls

Dunstan Trainer of the Year (1): Jamie Richards Newcomer to Training award:  Michael House

These join the flat finalists announced earlier this month:

Two-Year-Olds (4): Dynastic, Lickety Split, Maven Belle, Wolverine

Three-Year-Olds (9): Asterix, Belle En Rouge, Imperatriz, La Crique, Noverre, Pinarello, Self Obsession, Sword Of State, The Perfect Pink

Sprinter-Milers (up to 1600m) (6): Callsign Mav, Entriviere, Levante, Mascarpone, Roch ‘N’ Horse, Two Illicit

Middle distance (1601-2200m) (4): Coventina Bay, Probabeel, Savy Yong Blonk, Tiptronic

Stayers (2201m & further) (3): Concert Hall, The Chosen One, Uareastar

The winners of these awards, along with our Stablehand of the Year, Media Contribution of the Year, and the keenly sought-after Contribution to Racing Award will be presented at the NZTR Thoroughbred Horse of the Year Awards at Claudelands on Sunday, 4 September.   We will also recognise the winners of our Jockey, Trainer, Apprentice Jockey, and Owner premierships and also witness the presentation of the 2021-22 Filly of the Year Award by New Zealand Bloodstock.

New Zealand Thoroughbred Horse of the Year Awards